Slow motion effect for sound

Hello,

I’m very new to this engine. Actually I’ve interested in it because I need to implement one simple(as I think) thing – it’s slowing down music and sounds when pause menu occurs and accelerate up after it hides.

Something like here – https://vimeo.com/174327353

Is there a simple way achieve this? I tried just to set using default cocos2d-iphone engine pitch linearly, but it work very bad..

How this effect can be done with The Amazing Audio Engine?

Comments

• You can utilize the varispeed filter within The Amazing Audio Engine via the AEVarispeedModule. You can even see how it's implemented in the excellent sample app project that's provided in TAAE 2 source on GitHub:

https://github.com/TheAmazingAudioEngine/TheAmazingAudioEngine2

You can see it in action in the sample app preview video at 1:52 seconds:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9dcApliV-Y#t=1m52s

The varispeed is slowing down the speed with the left hand, while the right hand is manipulating the bandpass filter. Here's the full video, if you're interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9dcApliV-Y

This is a code snippet from TAAE 2's AEVarispeedModule.h file:

//! documented range is from 0.25 to 4.0, but empirical testing shows it to be 0.25 to 2.0. Default is 1.0.
    @property (nonatomic) double playbackRate;

//! range is from -2400 to 2400. Default is 0.0.
    @property (nonatomic) double playbackCents;

Normal playback rate is 1.0, which is its default. In your case, you may just want to change the playbackRate between 0.25-0.5 in order to slow it down for the desired effect. In order to hear the slow down in real-time, you should implement an NSTimer, so that you can hear the change happen over time, during the duration of the animation speed change. You can find this in the sample app in the following code:

Line 188:

@IBAction func speedSliderDrag() {
            if speedRestoreTimer != nil {
                // Get rid of prior timer